What is your current position?

I am a Physiotherapist at Move Physiotherapy and Pilates in Adelaide. I am in charge of all of the Women’s Health workload at the clinic, and also run Pilates classes (studio and mat) and do some general musculo-skeletal work as well.

What led you into women's health physio?

I have always had an interest in Women’s Health and did an elective in this area in final year at university. Unfortunately, I didn’t get too much of a chance to work in this field until I returned to work after having my own children. I think the pregnancy and childbirth experience opened my eyes even more to the need for Women’s Health Physios and reignited my interest in working further in that area.

What do you enjoy the most about it?

Helping clients who have been very distressed about their symptoms to overcome their problems and find solutions. I also really enjoy problem-solving the tricky or unusual cases!

Do you have a specific area of specialty or interest within women's health?

Pre and post-natal care (including Pilates) and pelvic organ prolapse.

Describe an average 'day at the office'

I would see a mixture of Women’s Health and general musculo-skeletal clients for 1:1 treatment, and teach several mat or studio Pilates classes on most days.

Name an area of research you would like to see done in women's/men's/pelvic floor health?

I would definitely like to see more research on conservative management (specifically PFMT) for faecal incontinence. There’s not nearly as much out there as on urinary incontinence.

It would also be great to do a trial of ‘usual’ postnatal care, as done in Australia versus the ‘usual’ care in France, which involves multiple 1:1 sessions with a WH Physiotherapist to work on any pelvic floor dysfunction. It would be great to see if there were significant differences in rates of urinary or faecal incontinence and pelvic organ prolapse in the short and long term

What is one thing you would like to say to someone who is considering taking that step and making an appointment with their local women's health physiotherapist?

I know it feels embarrassing and difficult to take this step and discuss your problems with someone, but you will be so glad you did it!

What is an aspect of women's/men's health that gives you job satisfaction?

As I mentioned before, helping those who have been very distressed by their symptoms to overcome them and manage their problems better.



Cats or Dogs? Both. We have one of each and we love them to bits, and they adore each other too!
Beach or Bush? Beach
Coffee or Tea? Coffee DEFINITELY!
Full cream or skim? Skim – but good quality. Not the supermarket brands.
Fruit or veg? Fruit – preferably off our own trees.
Home cooked or Restaurant? Depends on the restaurant and who’s cooking. Often home cooked wins, but a great restaurant meal out is a nice indulgence.
Camping or 5 star?  I’d love to stay 5 star, but camping is more often the norm for us.

Your name and qualifications

Jenny Phillips
B.App.Sc (Physiotherapy) Honours (and I also have a BA).
I am currently most of the way through my titling process in Continence and Women’s Health Physiotherapy. Fingers crossed!

You can find out more about Jenny and where she works at